Follow Us on Twitter

The King's Head Theatre's 2018 Queer Season

Preview by Lizzie Guilfoyle

THE King’s Head Theatre has announced the full line-up for its 2018 Queer Season, which runs from July 25 to September 1, 2018.

Established in 2015, the Queer Season is a celebration of the most interesting and innovative LGBTQI+ theatre being created in modern Britain, with transfers to and from some of the UK’s largest arts festivals alongside world premieres.

The European premiere of For Reasons That Remain Unclear… by the author of the groundbreaking gay comedy-drama, The Boys in the Band, is to headline the season. Directed by Jessica Lazar (East, Life According to Saki), the play is a thrilling two-hander that examines complex questions of power and fidelity.

Other highlights include Tennessee Williams’ And Tell Sad Stories of the Deaths of Queens, a fascinating and touching play about the life of a New Orleans drag queen, never performed in Williams’ lifetime because of its openly gay characters; Alexis Gregory’s verbatim exploration of the lives of three prominent Queer activists, directed by Rikki Beadle-Blair; a queer murder mystery, The Cluedo Club Killings, which transfers after an acclaimed sell-out run at the Arcola Theatre and the Minerva Collective’s Sacrament, which explores the challenges of a coming out as a lesbian in Catholic Ireland.

The King’s Head Theatre’s Artistic Director, Adam Spreadbury-Maher, said: “Queer work is a vital aspect of our programme; we’re committed to being a space where queer lives are explored, and queer artists have a voice. I’m delighted to host this season of fantastic theatre, which places work by celebrated playwrights and directors such as Mart Crowley, Tennessee Williams and Rikki Beadle-Blair alongside exciting, emerging writers and to celebrate the range of contexts, experiences and stories that the queer world has to offer.”

LISTINGS

For Reasons That Remain Unclear… – Wednesday, July 25 to Saturday, August 25 at 7pm (3pm matinees).

Dead is Dead (Long Live James Dean) – Wednesday, August 26 to Sunday, August 29 at 8.45pm (4.45pm matinee).

Riot Act – Tuesday, July 31 to Sunday, August 5 at 8.45pm (4.45pm matinee).

Rush – Tuesday, August 7 to Sunday, August 12 at 8.45pm (4.45pm matinee).

And Tell Sad Stories of the Deaths of Queens – Tuesday, August 14 to Sunday, August 19 at 8.45pm (4.45pm matinee).

All That – Tuesday, August 21 to Saturday, August 25 at 8.45pm (4.45pm matinee).

Free and Proud – Tuesday, August 28 to Saturday, September 1 at 7pm (3.30pm matinee).

The Cluedo Club Killings – Sunday, July 29 and Monday, July 30 at 7pm.

Sacrament – Sunday, July 12 and Monday, July 13 at 7pm.

The Fencesitter’s Spellbook – Saturday, August 11 at 5pm.

For more information or to book tickets, visit www.kingsheadtheatre.com/.