Follow Us on Twitter

The Mousetrap continues to thrill

The Mousetrap

Feature by Lizzie Guilfoyle

THE Mousetrap, the world’s longest-running play according to the Guinness Book of Records, has once again extended its booking period at St Martin’s Theatre – this time until May 14, 2011.

The Mousetrap continues to thrill West End audiences and is now booking until April 10, 2010.

Previously Posted: The Mousetrap has extended its booking period yet again – this time until November 21, 2009.

Previously Posted: The Mousetrap, now in its 56th year and the longest running play in the history of British theatre, has again extended its booking period at St Martin’s Theatre – until November 1, 2008.

Previously Posted: The Agatha Christie classic, The Mousetrap, will continue to thrill West End audiences well into next year, having extended its run at St Martin’s Theatre by six months – until May 3, 2008.

Previously Posted: Agatha Christie’s classic thriller, The Mousetrap, has extended its run at the West End’s St Martin’s Theatre by seven months – to November 4, 2006.

The classic whodunit opened on November 25, 1952, at the Ambassadors Theatre but in 1974 transferred to the neighbouring St Martins; while on November 25, 2002, and with The Queen in attendance, it celebrated 50 years in the West End.

During its phenomenal run – which makes it the world’s longest running play – almost 300 actors and actresses have taken part, some even making it into The Guinness Book of Records.

David Raven became the Most Durable Actor for his 4,575 performances as Major Metcalf; while the late Nancy Seabrooke broke records by being an understudy for 15 years.

Other fascinating trivia includes the 86 miles of shirts that have been ironed and the 320 tons of ice-cream sold.

But trivia apart, audiences from around the world still delight in trying to solve the identity of the murderer – one of a group of people gathered together in a remote part of the countryside.

The current cast includes Kirsty Yates, Tom Sykes, John Lyons, John Fleming, Alan Freestone, Jan Waters, Adam Kay and Liz Carney.