Follow Us on Twitter

Twelve Angry Men - Shaw, Fahey, Moran and Vaughn star

Preview by Lizzie Guilfoyle

MARTIN Shaw, Jeff Fahey, Nick Moran and Robert Vaughn will star as jurors in a new production of Twelve Angry Men, which runs at the Garrick Theatre for a limited season – from November 11, 2013 (previews from November 7) to March 1, 2014.

In this classic courtroom drama, twelve jurors must decide the fate of a young delinquent accused of killing his father. But what appears to be an open and shut case soon becomes a huge dilemma as prejudices and pre-conceived ideas about the accused, the trial and each other turn the tables every which way, until the nail-biting climax.

Twelve Angry Men was originally written by Reginald Rose as a television play in 1954 and a year later was adapted for the stage, followed in 1957 by the three time Oscar-nominated Hollywood film produced by and starring Henry Fonda.

Martin Shaw most recently appeared in the West End in the acclaimed The Country Girl (Apollo Theatre) and A Man for All Seasons (Theatre Royal Haymarket). He is best known for starring in the multi-award-winning BBC drama Judge John Deed and more recently Inspector George Gently. His role in the iconic series The Professionals ensured his status as a British screen legend.

Oscar-nominated Robert Vaughn has starred in some of the great movie classics of the 20th century, including The City Jungle, The Magnificent Seven, The Towering Inferno and Bullitt. He has also appeared on television in The Man from U.N.C.L.E, The Protectors and Hustle (as Albert Stoller).

Hollywood actor Jeff Fahey has starred in numerous films including the title role in cult thriller The Lawnmower Man opposite Pierce Brosnan, Roberto Rodriguez’ Machete, Quentin Tarantino’s Grindhouse, Silverado and White Hunter Black Heart opposite Clint Eastwood. He also starred as pilot Frank Lapidus in TV’s fantasy drama Lost.

Although Nick Moran is best known as Eddy the card sharp in Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels and as Scabior in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1 and Part 2, he has appeared in many films and TV programmes including New Blood with John Hurt, Mr Selfridge and The Musketeer.

Christopher Haydon will direct a cast that also includes Luke Shaw, David Calvitto, Paul Antony-Barber, Ed Franklin, Robert Blythe, Miles Richardson, Martin Turner, Owen O’Neil and Jason Riddington.

Produced by Bill Kenwright in association with Birmingham Rep and Nica Burns, Twelve Angry Men will be designed by Michael Pavelka, with lighting by Mark Howland and sound by Dan Hoole.

Prior to the West End, Twelve Angry Men will visit Birmingham Rep (October 4-19), Theatre Royal Norwich (October 21-26) and Malvern Festival Theatre (October 28 to November 2).

Rock of Ages continues at the Garrick Theatre until November 2, 2013.

Buy tickets