A/V Room









12" 80s: Volume 2

Review: Jack Foley

VOLUME one of Family Recordings' compilation of some of the biggest 12-inches of the 80s was a huge seller for the label, so it's little wonder that Volume 2 has been rushed into stores already.

The 3CD cheese-fest is an ok collection of some of the biggest names of the decade, all designed to appeal to the party crowd, or those who've previously found themselves caught up in the 80s revival.

It has its moments but feels a little over-populated by tracks that haven't aged well and would doubtless muster some embarrassment if you were to admit to owning them in your record collection.

For those who want to indulge in some more fun (especially if you rushed out and bought the first collection) there are some classics to savour.

INXS' timeless I Need You Tonight is delivered in the Liebrand remix, while Frankie Goes To Hollywood's emotive Two Tribes gets a suitably apt Annihilation Remix.

Duran Duran, of course, crop up with The Reflex, which is one of those rare 80s tracks that can sound retro without being too constrained, while Julian Cope's lively Trampoline is one to really test the memory cells (as well as a great track).

Some of the material is instantly disposable and merely serves to highlight the 80s for the creatively sterile decade that it mostly was.

But for those in search of an alternative party album to bop along to this summer, or anyone who believes Adam Sandler's The Wedding Singer is one of the greatest movies of all time, this should provide plenty to enjoy getting nostalgic with.

A guilty pleasure to be opened with caution.


Track listing:
Disc: 1
1. Papa’s Got A Brand New Pigbag - Pigbag
2. Bedsitter – Soft Cell
3. Peek A Boo – Siouxsie And The Banshees
4. Trampolene – Julian Cope
5. Bizarre Love Triangle – New Order
6. Love Song – Simple Minds
7. The Walk – The Cure
8. Change – Tears For Fears
9. Big Decision – That Petrol Emotion
10. The Killing Moon – Echo And The Bunnymen
11. The Race - Yello

Disc: 2
1. When Smokey Sings - ABC
2. Labour Of Love – Hue And Cry
3. West End Girls – Pet Shop Boys
4. The Reflex – Duran Duran
5. Get The Balance Right – Depeche Mode
6. Brand New Friend – Lloyd Cole
7. Love On Your Side – Thompson Twins
8. Favourite Shirts – Haircut 100
9. Penthouse & Pavement – Heaven 17
10. Night Train – Visage
11. Need You Tonight - INXS

Disc: 3
1. Chant Number 1 – Spandau Ballet
2. Two Tribes – Frankie Goes To Hollywood
3. Imagination – Belouis Some
4. Slow Train – The The
5. Money Go Round – Style Council
6. Boops (Here To Go) – Sly And Robbie
7. Annie I'm Not Your Daddy – Kid Creole And The Coconuts
8. Slave To The Rhythm – Grace Jones
9. Madame Butterfly – Malcolm Mclaren
10. Genius Of Love – Tom Tom Club
11. Soul Deep – The Council Collective
12. Mr Solitaire – Animal Nightlife

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z