Ash recapture the sound of the summer

Review by Jack Foley

Ash have been on something of a role since they first released Warmer Than Fire for Internet fans a few months back.

The track marked a fresh, exceptionally listener friendly style of song writing and remains a personal favourite. Needless to say I was delighted when it cropped up on the B side of the first single to be taken from the new album, Shining Light, another gem.

The same infectious energy that prevailed in that comeback track is rife throughout Free All Angels, a guitar heavy collection of rock classics that demand to have you playing along to air guitar or simply jumping about the room in gay abandon. Ash have, in short, recaptured the innocence of youth and have delivered the perfect album for a bright summer's day.

Opening track, Walking Barefoot, sets the standard, with its carefree energy and wistful imagery, conjuring up images of strolling along a sandy beach or merely playing football in the park with your mates - music blaring from a stereo alongside you.

Shining Light is a near perfect rock song, with its terrific lyrics and belting guitar backing, while Burn Baby Burn positively crackles with energy and demands to be heard with the volume turned up.

Even in quieter moments such as Candy, a Sixties throwback, Ash manage to sound fresh and exciting, as well as demonstrating a growing versatility. It might not work as well as some tracks on the CD, but it is still worth a listen.

Someday and There's A Star, complete with their orchestral backing, are great for just lying back and listening to with a beer (or a hangover!!).

In the final track, World Domination, Ash maybe betraying their future status. This is a band which is clearly destined for great things.
1. Walking Barefoot
2. Shining Light
3. Burn Baby Burn
4. Candy
5. Cherry Bomb
6. Submission
7. Someday
8. Pacific Palisades
9. Shark
10. Sometimes
11. Nicole
12. There's A Star
13. World Domination