A/V Room









Donnie Darko: Original soundtrack and score

Review: Jack Foley

THE surreal brilliance that epitomises Donnie Darko, the movie, is expertly realised in its eclectic soundtrack, which is finally available for the first time since the release of the film.

The 2CD set includes all the tracks used in the movie, from artists such as INXS, Tears For Fears, Duran Duran, Joy Division and Echo & The Bunnymen, as well as the whole of the Michael Andrews' score, including Mad World, the Christmas Number 1 hit for Gary Jules.

And it's a brooding, nostalgic, thought-provoking affair that succeeds in conjuring many fantastical memories from the film, as well as providing a timely collection of 80s classics.

There's no denying the enduring brilliance of the INXS anthem, Never Tear Us Apart, or Joy Division's Love Will Tear Us Apart; just as there's no getting away from the cheesy brilliance of Duran Duran's Notorious, or Echo & The Bunnymen's The Killing Moon.

The cool-again Tears For Fears provide an appropriate reminder of their talents with Head Over Heels (used so effectively in the film), while The Church's Under The Milky Way is a strangely hypnotic affair.

Typically, for a film which stood out for its uniqueness, the soundtrack doesn't just stick to the familiar, blending in some haunting instrumentals, as well as some elements of opera, classical and choirboy music.

It makes for a richly diverse collection that appropriately does justice to the enduring memory of the film.

Now rush out and buy that director's cut DVD!!!

Track listing:
Disc One
Original Soundtrack
1. Never Tear Us Apart-INXS
2. Head Over Heels-Tears For Fears
3. Under The Milky Way-The Church
4. Lucid Memory-Sam & Gerard Bauer
5. Lucid Assembly-Mike & Gerard Bauer
6. Ave Maria-Giulio Caccini & Paul Pritchard
7. For Whom The Bells Toll-Steve Baker & Carmen Daye
8. Show Me-Quito Colayco & Tony Hertz [Part 1]
9. Notorious-Duran Duran
10. Stay-Oingo Bongo
11. Love Will Tear Us Apart-Joy Division
12. The Killing Moon-Echo & The Bunnymen

Disc Two
Original Score By Michael Andrews
1. Carpathian Ridge
2. The Tangent Universe
3. The Artifact & Living
4. Middlesex Times
5. Manipulated Living
6. Philosophy Of Time Travel
7. Liquid Spear Waltz
8. Gretchen Ross
9. Burn It To The Ground
10. Slipping Away
11. Rosie Darko
12. Cellar Door
13. Ensurance Trap
14. Waltz In The 4th Dimension
15. Time Travel
16. Did You Know Him?
17. Mad World--Featuring Gary Jules
18. Mad World-Featuring Gary Jules [Alternate Mix]

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z