A/V Room









The Glitterati - Glitterati

Review: Jack Foley

LEEDS-based, leather-clad rockers, The Glitterati, aspire to a classic sort of rock 'n' roll - the type that aspires to legendary, stadium-filler status.

Their self-titled debut album is filled with epic slabs of guitar-driven anthems that make no apology for keeping things loud and having fun every step of the way.

It was produced by Mike Clink, the man behind Guns N' Roses' seminal album, Appetite for Destruction, and takes its cue from Axl Rose and co, as well as countless other big American rock acts such as Aerosmith and Motley Crue.

As such, if you dig black leather and hard-rock, there is plenty to enjoy in the album. If you need a break from the power-riffs and easily grow tired of wailing vocals, however, then steer well clear.

The Glitterati isn't a bad album, merely one that caters for a pre-defined audience.

It wants to rock all night, only breaking for the occasional power-ballad to allow the fans to catch breath.

It's ironic, therefore, that the album works best when reigning things in somewhat, with tracks such as Keep Me Up All Night and Don't Do Romance standing head and shoulders above the crowd.

Don't Do Romance, in particular, is a deeply cynical anti-ballad, that maintains an unapologetically sceptical stance towards romance.

It's driven by a great bassline, some excellent acoustic guitar riffs and finds Nic Denson's vocals at their most spellbinding.

But the band's overall attitude is best summed up in the hedonstic lyrics of Back in Power, which finds Denson in full swagger, proclaiming: "I want a film star, I'm on the guestlist, I want a sex life, I want a death wish!"

It's a sentiment that is similarly conveyed in former singles, You Got Nothing On Me and Here Comes A Close Up, during which the shouting goes into overload, and the sleazy guitars really take over.

You Need You is another wail-fest, beginning with the type of roar that wouldn't sound out of place on Guns N' Roses Welcome To The Jungle track, while delivering a full-speed ahead verbal and guitar assault on the senses.

And Still Thinking About You is a clear throwback to the Aerosmith stadium-fillers.

For my money, however, the excess becomes tiring and threatens to inhibit the band's progression.

They have plenty of swagger and clearly love what they are doing (just check out the enthusiasm of some of the epic guitar solos) but The Glitterati's energy isn't always infectious.

It'll be interesting to see what the future holds for them.

Track listing:
1. Betterman
2. You Got Nothing On Me
3. Heartbreaker
4. Back In Power
5. Do You Love Yourself?
6. Don’t Do Romance
7. First Floor
8. You Need You
9. Still Thinking About You
10. Here Comes A Close Up
11. Keep Me Up All Night

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z