A/V Room









Hed Kandi - The Mix: Winter 2004

Review: Jack Foley

IT'S been a busy year for the Hed Kandi people, with six compilation albums, a further two mix albums in Australia and New Zealand, and a DJ base that has seen over 500 club nights attracting in excess of 800,000 people.

Hed Kandi have travelled to Australia, Columbia, Russia, Amsterdam, Miami, New York, Montreal, Singapore, Thailand, Ibiza and most of Europe.

To herald the year end, the tireless outfit have put out a 3CD compilation of dancefloor fillers, entitled Winter 2004, which is designed to showcase the best of what they offer.

CD1 is entitled The Winter Beach and boasts the claim that 'somewhere in the world it's extremely hot, even if it's snowing in London'.

Hence, it is a collection of deep house and Latin-flavoured floor fillers that ought to go down a storm on the beaches of Thailand this winter, featuring tracks from Bonnie Bailey, Lisa Shaw, Dr Kucho! and Danny Marquez.

CD2, the Disco Heaven Mix, is all about big, hands in the air moments and 'great vocals', featuring the likes of Stonebridge, David Morales and Mutiny.

While lastly, there's CD3, the Twisted Disco, which lays claim to featuring some 'downright dirty dancefloor action for those 3am clubbers who refuse to go home'.

This one features club mixes from Dirty Vegas, Mousse T, Monroe, Armand van Helden and Brad Carter, to name but a few.

And just to complete the picture, Hed Kandi, at its core, is about a group of people known collectively as Team Kandi, whose passion lies in delivering top-quality dance music to the hardcore club fraternity - ie, the Ibiza/Miami super-club generation.

As such, the 3CD marathon (which clocks in at around 75 minutes per CD) is a mind-numbing collection of beats and mixes that quickly blend into one monotonous, and overly repetitive whole.

Classic tunes, such as Is It 'Cos I'm Cool, from Mousse T, or Dirty Vegas' Walk Into The Sun, are given the dreaded Ibiza-style makeover, while the ominous thumping of CD2 and its supposed hands-in-the-air moments are indicative of all that's wrong about the Ibiza movement - ie, lots of people, herded together like sheep, getting on down to some truly uninspired music.

Contrast this with the glam of the 70s, the grunge of the alternative movement, the indie rifts of Britpop, or the funky grooves of DJ Shadow and co, and it's a particularly shallow example of modern music at its most generic and worst.

If you partied heard on the beaches and dancefloors of the Greek Isles or Ibiza this Summer, then this Winter Mix will probably bring back warm memories for you.

For me, I'd rather just give it the cold shoulder.

Track listing:
Disc: 1
1. Bonnie Bailey - Safe (Claude Bareau Mix)
2. Lisa Shaw - Let It Ride (Speakeasy Remix)
3. Aya - Sean (Mig’s Salted Vocal)
4. Fac 15 Featuring Cathi Ogden - Blue Skies
5. Late Night Alumni - Nothing Left To Say
6. Dr. Kucho! - Lies To Yourself (Extended Mix)
7. Salif Keita Vs Martin Solveig - Madan (Exotic Disco Mix)
8. Moonlight Vs Azoto - San Salvador
9. Danny Marquez & Ferry B - Afrocatalans (Hardsoul Emocion Tropical Treatment)
10. Salome De Bahia - Outro Lugar (Cutee B & Julien Jabre Mix)
11. Eric Kupper Presents Organika - Aurora
12. Ferrer & Sydenham - Sandcastles (Pete Heller Re-Edit)
13. Richard F Ft. Samantha Stock - Let The Sunshine Thru (Main 12” Mix)

Disc: 2
1. Andy Caldwell & Jay-J - Give A Little (Moulton Studios Remix)
2. Who Da Funk - The Night (Vocal Mix)
3. Mirabeau - Back From Outta Space
4. Peyton - Keep The Faith (Eric Kupper’s Disco Mix)
5. David Morales with Lea-Lorién - How Would U Feel (12” Vocal Mix)
6. Steve Anders vs. Andrea T. Mendoza - Can’t Fake It (Andrea T. Mendoza Vs. Tibet Vocal)
7. Anthony Acid feat. Ruby - Sweat (Funky Sweat Club Mix)
8. DJ Rhythm presents Soul Theory - Drama (Warren Clarke Drama Mix)
9. Scent - Up & Down (Hott 22 Vocal Mix)
10. Stonebridge feat. Therese - Take Me Away (Stonebridge Extended Mix)
11. LnM Projekt feat. Bonnie Bailey - Everywhere
12. Mutiny feat. Lorraine Cato - Holding On (Eric Prydz Mix)
13. Shawn Christopher - Don't Lose The Magic (David Morales Club Remix)

Disc: 3
1. Dirty Vegas - Walk Into The Sun (Club Mix)
2. Mousse T feat. Emma Lanford - Is It ‘Cos I’m Cool? (So Phat Remix)
3. Monroe - Gotta Get A Move On (Club Mix)
4. ATFC - Fall Down (Original Mix)
5. Armand Van Helden - My My My (Original Mix)
6. Mylo - Drop The Pressure (Club Mix)
7. Eric Kupper presents The Barrow Gang feat. Bonnie Bailey - I Want Kandi (Twisted Anthem Mix)
8. Brad Carter - Morning Always Comes Too Soon (Original Mix)
9. Moguai - Freaks (Original Freaks)
10. Antoine Clamaran feat. Lulu Hughes - Feel It (Club Control Mix)
11. Open Air - Seven Nation Army
12. Soul Central - Strings Of Life (Danny Krivit Re-Edit)
13. Breaker J - Higher State Of Consciousness (The Twist Of Kandi Remake)

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z