A/V Room









Jay-Z/Linkin Park - Collision Course

Review: Jack Foley

MASH-UPS don't come much more spectacular than Jay-Z and Linkin Park - two heavyweights from their respective genres, whose own collision course delivers some seriously wicked tunes.

Hot off the heels of the single, Numb/Encore, the album delivers more of the same thrills, with mash-ups of two of the artists greatest hits, such as Izzo/In The End and Points of Authority/99 Problems/One Step Closer.

For those who don't know, the album came about as a result of the once-in-a-lifetime performance by Jay-Z and Linkin Park on MTV on July 18, 2004, at West Hollywood’s famed Roxy Theatre in front of a select group of lucky fans.

The ensuing session marked a meeting of musical minds inspired by mutual admiration and a passion for music, resulting in a combination of great songs 'mashed' together as if they meant to be paired in that way all along.

The tracks were cut in the studio with Linkin Park and Jay-Z while they rehearsed for the Roxy performance.

Hence, fans of both artists are treated to studio versions, plus the entire MTV concert on the accompanying DVD - making it a must for all fans.

Of the highlights, the Izzo/In The End mash-up is probably the best, featuring a genuinely brilliant Jackson 5 sample, laid down across Jay-Z's memorable hip-hop style. Linkin Park, for their part, sound perfectly suited to the hip-hop style and the track remains in hip-hop throughout.

The reverse is true for the nu-metal heavy Authority/99 Problems/One Step Closer, which is as gutsy as you might expect from some of the artists' heavier tracks. The guitars positively reverberate around the room if you have it turned up loud enough (which I urge you to).

Big Pimpin/Paper Cut is another gem - a flute-laden, beat-driven mix of musical mayhem that sounds like the two styles were made for each other.

Fans of both artists will probably relish the collaboration, while the uninitiated might just be surprised at how well this works.

So why not place yourself on Collision Course with the nearest record shop?


Track listing:
Disc: 1
1. Dirt Off Your Shoulder/Lying From You
2. Big Pimpin’/Papercut
3. Jigga What/Faint
4. Numb/Encore
5. IZZO/In The End
6. Points Of Authority/99 Problems/One Step Closer

Disc: 2
1. Live Footage
2. Behind the Scenes Documentary

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z