A/V Room









Kiss presents Hip-Hop Classics

Review: Jack Foley

IT'S very rare that you'll find me tuning in to anything that Kiss FM get involved with, except for the Sunday night show, Kiss-tory, which regularly throws in some of the best hip-hop tracks of recent years.

Imagine my surprise, then, when I happened upon this compilation album, during a recent shopping spree around London's record shops.

A double CD packed with the cream of hip-hop tracks, it is one of those rare compilations that consistently continues to delight - seldom, if ever, providing any need to reach for the skip button.

CD1 features a lot of newer material, the like of which can be heard on most of the daytime shows, while CD2 provides a glorious trip down memory lane, and is jam-packed full of classics.

If anything, it just goes to prove how much better the hip-hop scene was a few years ago, before it became over-populated with the over-hyped likes of Eminem, Outkast Ja Rule, and Busta Rhymes and co.

The fun factor is certainly missing nowadays, when compared with the likes of DJ Jazzy Jeff and The Fresh Prince's ultra feelgood ditty, Summertime, or Tone Loc's timeless Funky Cold Medina (the most successful US record of all-time, I heard someone say).

In fact, CD2 is so full of hits that it's difficult to know where to start. Other highlights include Salt n Pepa's Whatta Man (featuring En Vogue), Mama Said Knock You Out, by LL Cool J, and Eric B & Rakim's Paid In Full - all tracks which need no introduction, just an appreciative nod of the head.

And that's not even mentioning Public Enemy's anthemic Don't Believe The Hype, Cypress Hill's Insane In The Brain, or KRS-One's Sound of da Police.

CD2 has resided in my CD player for quite some time. Yet CD1 has plenty to offer as well, from Eminem's The Way I Am (one of his better efforts), to The Fugees' glorious Fu-Gee-La, as well as Blackstreet's No Diggity (featuring Dr Dre), DMX's dirty Party Up, D12's Purple Hills and Ja Rule's Always on Time (featuring Ashanti).

With 35 tracks to listen to, you can probably count the ones worth skipping on the finger of one hand.

This is, without doubt, a must-have compilation for any fan of the hip-hop movement.

Track listing:
Disc: 1
1. Eminem - The Way I Am
2. Hot In Herre - Nelly
3. Gravel Pit - Wu-Tang Clan
4. Fu-Gee-La - The Fugees
5. Ms. Jackson - Outkast
6. Phenomenon - LL Cool J
7. No Diggity - Blackstreet feat. Dr Dre
8. Let Me Blow Your Mind - Eve feat. Gwen Stefani
9. Foolish - Ashanti
10. Beep Me 911 - Missy Elliot feat. 702 & Magoo
11. Purple Hills - D-12
12. Woo Hah!! Got You All In Check - Busta Rhymes
13. Down 4 U - Charli Baltimore feat. Ja Rule, Ashanti & Vita
14. I'll Be - Foxy Brown feat. Jay-Z
15. Ugly - Bubba Sparxxx
16. Party Up - DMX
17. Shake Ya Ass - Mystikal
18. Always On Time - Ja Rule feat. Ashanti

Disc: 2
1. California Love - 2 Pac feat. Dr Dre
2. Who Am I & What's My Name? - Snoop Dogg
3. Whatta Man - Salt n Pepa & En Vogue
4. Summertime - DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince
5. Regulate - Warren G feat. Nate Dogg
6. Public Enemy No.1 - Public Enemy
7. Mama Said Knock You Out - LL Cool J
8. Paid In Full - Eric B & Rakim
9. Rapper's Delight - Sugarhill Gang
10. The Message - Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
11. Funky Cold Medina - Tone Loc
12. Walk This Way - Run DMC feat. Aerosmith
13. Sound of da Police - KRS-One
14. Natural Born Killaz - Dr Dre & Ice Cube
15. Gin & Juice - Snoop Dogg
16. Insane In The Brain - Cypress Hill
17. Don't Believe The Hype - Public Enemy

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z