A/V Room









LCD Soundsystem

Review: Emma Whitelaw

IF YOU haven’t already heard of LCD Soundsystem, aka James Murphy, you should soon be asking yourself why!

After a few tasters released last year, Losing My Edge, Give It Up, Yeah and the most recent single, Movement the world has waited with bated breath for the impending release of LCD Soundsystem, and believe me it has been well worth the wait.

The self-titled debut is simply stunning. James Murphy, one half of the infamous New York production duo/label that is the DFA, has produced an epic collection of dance, disco-punk, funk-rock tracks that will have everyone hitting the dancefloor in a big way this winter.

The album is split over two discs. The first features nine new tracks, from the frenzied trance punk throb of Movement to the pulsing opener and second single, Daft Punk Is Playing At My House.

The second features older tracks Losing My Edge, Beat Connection, Give It Up, Tired and Yeah (both Crass and Pretentious mixes) together on CD for the first time along with the newly added full length version of Yr City’s A Sucker.

Addictive tracks like Tribulations, the beautiful, Pink Floyd-inspired Never As Tired As When I’m Waking Up are sure to have you hitting the repeat button as will the glorious Prince parody Disco Infiltrator, which features samples from Kraftwerk’s Home Computer.

LCD Soundsystem is first and foremost, a dance-rock party album full of dirty sounds and nasty grooves.

It’s the sort of album that has raised the bar for 2005 and boy is it going to be a hard one to top.

Make no mistake; LCD Soundsystem is cooler than cool! Expect to be hearing a whole lot more from Mr Murphy, he has much to say and he’s only just begun.


Track listing:
Disc: 1
1. Daft Punk Is Playing At My House
2. Too Much Love
3. Tribulations
4. Movement
5. Never As Tired As When I’m Waking Up
6. On Repeat
7. Thrills
8. Disco Infiltrator
9. Great Release

Disc: 2
1. Losing My Edge
2. Beat Connection
3. Give It Up
4. Tired
5. Yeah (Crass Version)
6. Yeah (Pretentious Version)
7. Yr City's A Sucker

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z