A/V Room









Lucie Silvas - Breathe In

Review: Jack Foley

GREAT voice, bland songs, seems like an appropriate way to summarise the debut album from promising British singer, Lucie Silvas.

Having written songs for Rachel Stevens, Gareth Gates and Liberty X, including the hit track, Jumpin’, Lucie has taken the time to find a record contract and a sound that truly accommodates her talent and reflects her style.

And the result is something ideally suited to the Radio 2 brigade - where it has been playlisted - and which comes across as a Vonda Shepherd/Christina Aguilera hybrid of drippy, piano-led ballads, wrapped around a strong set of vocals.

There are moments when the album flourishes, such as the title track, Breathe In, which is a little more upbeat than usual, and the brooding violins of Nothing Else Matters, which lend the track a more poignant edge, complete with echoing vocals.

But they are few and far between and Lucie seems content to let her piano guide her, drifting off into one Aguilera-style ballad after another.

She counts Chris Martin, Burt Bacharach and Lionel Ritchie as fans, yet her style is rooted in the same genre that has provided the basis for some of her biggest song-writing hits.

It would be interesting to see what might happen if she put her voice alongside some of the music that has helped Joss Stone to make a name for herself.

But one suspects she is headed in a different direction for, as she states: "Today, I've worked out what being Lucie Silvas is. It's taken a while to get there, but now I can say, 'this is me. This is who I am."

For me, she needs to go on discovering.

Click on the blip below to find out more...

Lucie Silvas - What You're Made Of!


Track listing:
1. Don't Look Back
2. The Game Is Won
3. Last Man Standing
4. Forget Me Not
5. Breathe In
6. Nothing Else Matters
7. Without You
8. What You're Made Of
9. Twisting The Chain
10. No Defence
11. The Longer We're Apart
12. Like You Love Me
13. Seven Veils (UK bonus track)

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z