A/V Room









Narco - Control of the Stereo

Review: Jack Foley

RAW, dirty, sexy and downright filthy is how rock 'n' rollers, Narco, like to describe themselves.

Their album is a fired-up and unapologetically brutal monster, packed with 12 of the sleaziest garage rock tracks you're ever likely to hear.

How much you like it depends on how much you fancy the idea of ear-drum penetrating power-chords and near incessant drum rolls, set around the sort of hedonistic antics that might even make Oasis blush.

Needless to say, Control of the Stereo is not an easy listen; rather, it's a full-on assault that offers very little respite for the faint of heart.

Narco have existed for a while now, having found fame by providing the music for multi-million-selling computer games like Driver and Getaway.

Hence, their particular brand of songwriting is appropriate backing music for blasting around in fast cars and killing people in computer-game form - and very little else, unless you like stiflingly hot subterranean clubs with a ceiling so low that your head bumps against it.

But then what else could you expect from a band whose line-up includes Cave (a self-confessed neanderthal vocalist who once stayed awake for four days in Berlin in a white suit that served as a record of everything he ate and drank in that period), J.G. (a pervert keyboardist prone to getting his cock out onstage and playing chords with his scrotum) and Chopper (a bad tempered drummer set permanently to 'breakneck')?

Tracks include the swamp-rocker, Uno Kilo de Stilo; Worth It, which is best described by the band themselves as being 'like the forcible sodomy of The Glitter Band', and their former single and garage rock anthem, Evil Brother.

Most sound the same, few contain any sort of melody or restraint and most embrace the hedonistic excess of the rock 'n' roll lifestyle.

The odd notable exception comes in the form of tracks such as 2nd Evolution, which is the closest thing to a love song the band have created.

Yet such moments are in short supply and I doubt you'll really stay tuned in long enough for Narco to persuade you to take Control of the Stereo.


Track listing:
1. Hey You
2. Worth It
3. Une Kilo De Stilo
4. Young Man vs the 747
5. Evil Brother
6. Blackmailer
7. The 2nd Evolution
8. Getting Low
9. The Heat Ray
10. Soldiers Don't Sleep
11. Pick It Up
12. Teen Suicide Explosion

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z