A/V Room









The New Breed, featuring the biggest bands

Review: Jack Foley

TO COMMEMORATE the fact that rock is finally showing signs of displacing pop at the top of the charts (particularly in the album charts), a new compilation has been released to celebrate all that 'the new breed' of bands have done to achieve this.

Hence, most of the bands who have helped spark the indie-rock revival are present and correct - with only a few odd omissions, in the form of Keane and Franz Ferdinand.

Highlights include recent successes such as Snow Patrol's majestic, moody Run, Razorlight's energetic Stumble and Fall, and, of course, everyone's favourite, The Libertines' Don't Look Back Into The Sun.

Indeed, the album pretty much caters for every band that has been dubbed 'the next big thing' at the moment, with Thirteen Senses making a welcome appearance, with their blistering debut track, Do No Wrong, and Las Vegas-based The Killers contributing their recent hit, the hopelessly catchy Mr Brightside.

There are some indie stalwarts, of course, most notably in the form of The Charlatans, whose most recent single, Up At The Lake, gets a nod (despite being one of the weaker songs on the new album), and The Stereophonics crop up with their electronic-tinged effort, Movie Star.

But as all-encompassing as this compilation is, there are some odd choices, which stand out because of the absence of Keane and co.

Therefore, it's difficult to know whether this was a get-rich-quick sort of compilation for the label, or the celebration it professes to be.

The Dandy Warhols, for instance, are represented by Bohemian Like You, when newer material, such as We Used To Be Friends (from Welcome to the Monkeyhouse) might have served the album better.

And The Hives' Hate To Say I Told You So and Electric 6's Danger, High Voltage are hardly new records.

But for indie purists who don't have the money to rush out and buy every new album, or those not interested in collecting the singles, then this pretty much represents a fantastic opportunity to get some of the best tracks from the past few years onto one album.

And those other highlights include Puddle of Mudd's sublime Blurry, Blink 182's beautifully mature I Miss You and Delays' beguiling Nearer Than Heaven - to name but three more reasons to buy it!

Track listing:
1. In The Shadows - The Rasmus
2. Run - Snow Patrol
3. For Lovers - Wolfman feat. Peter Doherty
4. I Miss You - Blink 182
5. Blurry - Puddle Of Mudd
6. Santa Cruz - Thrills
7. Lifestyles Of The Rich And Famous - Good Charlotte
8. Bohemian Like You - The Dandy Warhols
9. Red Morning Light - Kings Of Leon
10. Stumble & Fall - Razorlight
11. Get Over It - OK Go
12. Just The Way I'm Feeling - Feeder
13. Mr Brightside - The Killers
14. Up At The Lake - Charlatans
15. Nearer Than Heaven - Delays
16. Don't Look Back Into The Sun - The Libertines
17. Do No Wrong - Thirteen Senses
18. Movie Star - Stereophonics
19. Hate To Say I Told You So - The Hives
20. Danger, High Voltage - Electric 6

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z