A/V Room









The Rakes - Capture/Release

Review: Jack Foley

THE Rakes are another in the seemingly endless line of emerging British guitar-based bands who take their cue from the likes of The Jam and the post-punk nu-wave.

Fronted by Alan Donohoe, they specialise in creating angular working class anthems that are packed with sharp, edgy guitars and socially relevant lyrics.

The only trouble is, they sound way too generic and their music suffers from being prone to too comparisons with other bands.

Retreat, for instance, is firmly rooted in punk-rock territory and tells an all-too familiar story of suburban frustration - 'everything is temporary these days, might as well go out for the fifth night out in a row'.

The wage gap comes into play for 22 Grand Job, which is similarly edgy but way too repetitive.

While the laddish culture that is gripping late-night Britain is also condemned at several points, on tracks such as Violent, We Are All Animals and Work, Work, Work (Pub, Club, Sleep).

The latter, a former single, is actually one of the better efforts on the album thanks to some infectious melodies and a more catchy chorus than normal.

As is Binary Love, a melodic love song that embraces a more refined style and a much fuller sound - complete with a genuinely catchy chorus.

But too often the album feels borrowed or over-familiar, making Capture/Release a curiously stale effort that doesn't really have very much new to say, or to add to the overcrowded genre.

Still, if you require a blast of raw, shambolic punk-rock, then it might just tick the required box.

Track listing:
1. Strasbourg
2. Retreat
3. 22 Grand Job
4. Open book
5. The Guilt
6. Binary Love
7. We Are All Animals
8. Violent
9. T Bone
10. Terror!
11. Work, Work, Work (Pub, Club, Sleep)

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z