A/V Room









Sons & Daughters - Repulsion Box

Review: Jack Foley

WITH a name like Repulsion Box, you can pretty much guess that the debut album from Sons & Daughters isn't going to be filled with warm melodies and easy-going harmonies.

What they do offer, however, is a new-wave sound that's jam-packed with angular, edgy guitars, raw vocals and a Gothic tint that lends them their own identity on the Glasgow music scene.

Somewhat disappointingly, however, the album fails to live up to the potential shown in recent single, Dance Me In, emerging at the wrong end of the over-crowded new-wave movement and struggling to maintain its own identity.

It's no coincidence that the album was produced by Victor Van Vugt (of Nick Cave and PJ Harvey fame), given the similarity in style between Repulsion Box and Harvey's latest, Uh Huh Her.

Adele Bethel's ragged vocals, in particular, are spawned from the Harvey era, while their fast, energetic style is also reminiscent of The Kills.

Tracks such as Hunt and Medicine screech past in the blink of an eye without really registering on the ear, while several sound similar and repetitive.

Had there been more of the intensity displayed in Dance Me In, Royally Used, or Rama Lama (which includes some nice vocal interplay between Bethel and backing singer, Scott Paterson) this might have fared better.

As it stands, Sons & Daughters fail to ignite in the way they had previously threatened.


Track listing:
1. Medicine
2. Red Receiver
3. Hunt
4. Dance Me In
5. Choked
6. Taste The Last Girl
7. Monsters
8. Rama Lama
9. Royally Used
10. Gone

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z