A/V Room









The Stills - Logic Will Break Your Heart

Review: Jack Foley

THE New Wave movement seems relentless in its discovery of new talent at the moment, given the retro-revival spearheaded by the likes of Interpol, The Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs, StellaStarr*, The Rapture and The Strokes at the moment.

The latest to join that list, almost by association with some of the bands already mentioned, are The Stills, and while they hail, originally, from Montreal, it will come as little surprise to hear that they relocated to New York to put together their first album.

The good news, however, is that The Stills appear to have much more about them than mere bandwagon-jumpers.

Sure, much of their music contains that 80s-based, retro-vibe which appears to be the mainstay of bands in that genre, but there is something a little more gutsy, and a little less urgent, about them.

Call them The Radiohead of the post-punk, New Wave movement, if you will, but some of the tracks on debut album, Logic Will Break Your Heart, build in the same sort of way that early Yorke efforts did.

Certainly, the album smacks of the same sort of melancholy that can be found in a lot of Radiohead's work, although the guitars, for the most part, are a little brighter, and lead singer, Tim Fletcher's vocals, while still aching, are a little more serene, and much less whiny.

I'm talking about tracks such as the sweeping Of Montreal here, which expertly demonstrate the wealth of talent which appears to run throughout the band - they are both musically tight and vocally accomplished, making much of the album and an extremely pleasant listen.

There are moments which smack of close friends, Interpol, or the speed guitars of The Strokes (Ready For It), although they are mixed nicely with some of the weightier numbers, such as second single and opening track, Lola Stars and Stripes, which gets things rolling in fine style.

Strong, too, is the track Let's Roll, which contains a deeply brooding drum beat, and some neat guitar loops threaded intricately throughout. It's probably the closest thing on the album to an out and out ballad, and demonstrates a maturity beyond their years.

It may be borne out of frustration and despair, but Logic Will Break Your Heart also contains a refreshing optimism, thanks to the scything, occasionally melodic, guitars, and punchy drums.

The true heart-breaker in all this would be if the band didn't find a big listener base,so make sure that doesn't happen.

Track listing:
1. Lola Stars And Stripes
2. Gender Bombs
3. Changes Are No Good
4. Love & Death
5. Of Montreal
6. Ready For It
7. Let's Roll
8. Allison Krausse
9. Animals + Insects
10. Still In Love Song
11. Fevered
12. Yesterday Never Tomorrows

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z