A/V Room









The Veils - The Runaway Found

Review: Jack Foley

IT'S been two years in the making, but now that it has finally arrived, The Veils' debut album is well worth the wait.

Comprised of ten really great indie tracks, The Runaway Found is one of those rare listens that grabs you from the very first moment you hear it, and continually conjures nice surprises.

Marked by Finn Andrew's tortured vocals, the album is an eclectic mix of styles, which combine to make one of the most striking debuts of the year - better, dare I say, than Franz Ferdinand.

And yet it was borne out of a turbulent history, which saw the band leave their original label, due to creative differences, before signing with Rough Trade.

As a result, the first half of the album may sound pretty familiar, given that five of the tracks have been released as singles during the creative process.

But there is barely a misplaced number among them, regardless of tempo. The Veils, it seems, can do happy or sad, inspired or melancholy, with equal aplomb.

Take the current single, Wild Son, for instance, which is a gorgeous slice of indie pop that gets things off to a flying start, or the equally chirpy Guiding Light, which bears all the hallmarks of Bernard Butler's lush production values - both are fine examples of the band at their breeziest, and most addictive.

You can imagine cheering up any Summer party by putting one of those records on.

Elsewhere, there are the epic strings of the ballad, Lavinia, or the calming piano keys that grace the sweeping Vicious Traditions, and which evoke memories of Coldplay's instrumental compositions, even though, vocally, they are more reminiscent of Suede or Starsailor.

Yet it is the ability not to veer too far one way or the other which makes the album so richly rewarding and such compulsive listening. You will want to put it right back on, as soon as it's finished - and there aren't too many that leave you feel so excited right after you've finished with them.

Make sure this Runaway gets found by you...

Track listing:
1. The Wild Son
2. Guiding Light
3. Lavinia
4. More Heat Than Light
5. The Tide That Left and Never Came Back
6. The Leavers Dance
7. Talk Down The Girl
8. The Valleys of New Orleans
9. Vicious Traditions
10. The Nowhere Man

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z