A/V Room









South invite you to Loosen Your Hold

Story: Jack Foley

AFTER months of keeping us waiting, South have finally announced a release date for their eagerly-anticipated new single, Loosen Your Hold.

Currently the record of the week (or 'Little Wonder') on Zoe Ball's Drive-Time show on XFM (week beginning July 7), the track will be available from August 11, through Double Dragon records.

And guess what? It screams quality, instantly being recognisable and totally addictive, with its soaring vocals and excellent guitars and banjos.

The band has also announced another live date, to follow-up their excellent set at Glastonbury, at 93ft East, in Brick Lane, London on Wednesday, July 23.

Loosen Your Hold will be backed up by the bonus tracks, Too Much Too Soon (never released in UK) and the Estimation demo.

Still on the new material front from South, Out in a Day, one of the tracks that was due to be included on the Nothing Personal EP, which was called off earlier this month, is currently available for download from the band's website (accessible via the right-hand link).

The downloads page also offers fans the opportunity to grab the tracks, I Can Feel It In The Morning (Grand Funk Railroad cover), and Dolphins Were Junkies, the instrumental remix of Ian Brown's Dolphins Were Monkeys which is always a live favourite at gigs.

For the record, South are Joel Cadbury, Jamie McDonald and Brett Shaw.

They met at Haverstock Secondary school at the age of 14.

All three South members are talented multi-instrumentalists.

Joel performs the majority of vocals, but the songwriting is shared equally and, in the studio, each member jumps proficiently between the guitar, bass, drums and keyboards.

Their debut album, From Here On In, remains a largely undiscovered gem, while their follow-up, which will include the forthcoming single, is scheduled for release sometime this year - although a provisional date in September has already been pencilled in for America.

South will also be appearing on the new album from UNKLE, which is due for release later this year.

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z