Follow Us on Twitter

Grammys 2020: Billie Eilish is night's big winner

Billie Eilish

Story by Jack Foley

BILLIE Eilish emerged as the big winner at the 2020 Grammys, winning five of the ceremony’s main prizes.

The 18-year-old – who was recently confirmed to sing the theme song to the new James Bond film, No Time To Die – was crowned best new artist and also won song of the year as well as album of the year for her debut, When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?, which was recorded in her childhood home in LA.

She replaces Taylor Swift as the youngest person ever to win the award.

Modest in victory, Eilish admitted “so many other songs deserved this” when she picked up song of the year for Bad Guy.

And upon accepting the award for best new artist, Eilish also gave her fans the credit for her success.

“They have not been talked about enough tonight [but] they’re the only reason any of us are here,” she reasoned.

Her elder brother, Finneas O’Connell, also picked up producer of the year for his work on Eilish’s album, which tackles relevant hot button issues such as mental health awareness and climate change.

O’Connell said upon winning his award: “We didn’t make this album to win a Grammy. We wrote an album about depression and suicidal thoughts and climate change and being a bad guy, whatever that means. And we stand up here confused and grateful.”

Other big winners on the night included Lil Nas X, who won video of the year for Old Town Road, and Lizzo, who scooped three prizes including best pop solo performance for her breakout hit, Truth Hurts. Both artists had gone into the ceremony as favourites, having led the nominations list.

In what proved to be a highly emotional night for winners and performers alike, there were lots of tributes paid to basketball star Kobe Bryant, who died earlier in the day.

“Tonight is for Kobe,” Lizzo announced as the show began, before singing the lines, “I’m crying ‘cos I love you”.

British success was thin on the ground among the winners, but the Chemical Brothers, who won two awards, including best dance album for No Geography.

And Dua Lipa, who won best new artist last year, was also on hand to pass the baton to Billie Eilish.

Winners (and nominees) at a glance…

Album of the year
Billie Eilish – When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?
Bon Iver – I,I
Lana Del Rey – Norman F***ing Rockwell!
Ariana Grande – Thank U, Next
H.E.R. – I Used To Know Her
Lil Nas X – 7
Lizzo – Cuz I Love You
Vampire Weekend – Father Of The Bride

Record of the year
Billie Eilish – Bad Guy
Bon Iver – Hey, Ma
Ariana Grande – 7 Rings
H.E.R. – Hard Place
Khalid – Talk
Lil Nas X featuring Billy Ray Cyrus – Old Town Road
Lizzo – Truth Hurts
Post Malone & Swae Lee – Sunflower

Song of the year
Billie Eilish – Bad Guy
Lewis Capaldi – Someone You Loved
Lana Del Rey – Norman F***ing Rockwell
H.E.R. – Hard Place
Lady Gaga – Always Remember Us This Way
Lizzo – Truth Hurts
Taylor Swift – Lover
Tanya Tucker – Bring My Flowers Now

Best new artist
Billie Eilish
Black Pumas
Lil Nas X
Maggie Rogers
Tank and the Bangas

Best pop solo performance
Lizzo – Truth Hurts
Beyonce – Spirit
Billie Eilish – Bad Guy
Ariana Grande – 7 Rings
Taylor Swift – You Need To Calm Down

Best pop duo/group performance
Lil Nas X featuring Billy Ray Cyrus – Old Town Road
Ariana Grande & Social House – Boyfriend
Jonas Brothers – Sucker
Post Malone & Swae Lee – Sunflower
Shawn Mendes & Camila Cabello – Senorita

Best traditional pop vocal album
Elvis Costello & The Imposters – Look Now
Andrea Bocelli – Si
Michael Buble – Love
John Legend – A Legendary Christmas
Barbra Streisand – Walls

Best pop vocal album
Billie Eilish – When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?
Beyonce – The Lion King: The Gift
Ariana Grande (pictured) – Thank U, Next
Ed Sheeran – No. 6 Collaborations Project
Taylor Swift – Lover

Best dance recording
The Chemical Brothers – Got To Keep On
Bonobo – Linked
Meduza featuring Goodboys – Piece Of Your Heart
Rufus Du Sol – Underwater
Skrillex & Boys Noize featuring Ty Dolla $ign – Midnight Hour

Best dance/electronic album
The Chemical Brothers – No Geography
Apparat – LP5
Flume – Hi This Is Flume
Rufus Du Sol – Solace
Weather – Tycho

Best rock performance
Gary Clark Jr – This Land
Bones UK – Pretty Waste
Brittany Howard – History Repeats
Karen O & Danger Mouse – Woman
Rival Sons – Too Bad

Best metal performance
Tool – 7Empest
Candlemass featuring Tony Iommi – Astorolus The Great Octopus
Death Angel – Humanicide
I Prevail – Bow Down
Killswitch Engage Unleashed

Best rock album
Cage The Elephant – Social Cues
Bring Me The Horizon – Amo
The Cranberries – In The End
I Prevail – Trauma
Rival Sons – Feral Roots

Best alternative album
Vampire Weekend – Father Of The Bride
Big Thief – U.F.O.F.
James Blake – Assume Form
Bon Iver – I,I
Thom Yorke – Anima

Best R&B performance
Anderson .Paak featuring André 3000 РCome Home
Daniel Caesar & Brandy – Love Again
H.E.R. featuring Bryson Tiller – Could’ve Been
Lizzo featuring Gucci Mane – Exactly How I Feel
Lucky Daye – Roll Some Mo

Best urban contemporary album
Lizzo – Cuz I Love You
Steve Lacy – Apollo XXI
Georgia Anne Muldrow – Overload
NAO – Saturn
Jessie Reyez – Being Human In Public

Best rap song
21 Savage featuring J. Cole – A Lot
YBN Cordae featuring Chance The Rapper – Bad Idea
Rick Ross featuring Drake – Gold Roses
Nipsey Hussle featuring Roddy Ricch & Hit-Boy – Racks In The Middle
DaBaby – Suge

Best rap album
Tyler, The Creator – Igor
Dreamville – Revenge Of The Dreamers III
Meek Mill – Championships
21 Savage – I Am > I Was
YBN Cordae – The Lost Boy

Best rap/sung performance
DJ Khaled ft. Nipsey Hussle and John Legend – Higher
Lil Baby and Gunna – Drip Too Hard
Lil Nas X – Panini
Mustard featuring Roddy Ricch – Ballin’
Young Thug ft. J Cole and Travis Scott – The London

Best country album
Tanya Tucker – While I’m Livin’
Eric Church – Desperate Man
Reba McEntire – Stronger Than The Truth
Pistol Annies – Interstate Gospel
Thomas Rhett – Center Point Road

Best Country Solo Performance
Willie Nelson – Ride Me Back Home
Tyler Childers – All Your’n
Ashley McBryde – Girl Goin’ Nowhere
God’s Country – Blake Shelton
Tanya Tucker – Bring My Flowers Now

Best Country Duo/Group Performance
Dan + Shay – Speechless
Brooks & Dunn ft. Luke Combs – Brand New Man
Brothers Osborne – I Don’t Remember Me (Before You)
Little Big Town – The Daughters
Maren Morris ft. Brandi Carlile – Common

Best musical theatre album
Ain’t Too Proud: The Life And Times Of The Temptations
Moulin Rouge! The Musical
The Music Of Harry Potter And The Cursed Child

Producer of the year, non-classical
Jack Antonoff
Dan Auerbach
John Hill
Ricky Reed

Best music video
Lil Nas X & Billy Ray Cyrus – Old Town Road
The Chemical Brothers – We’ve Got To Try
Gary Clark Jr – This Land
FKA Twigs – Cellophane
Tove Lo – Glad He’s Gone

  Email: [?]
  Comment on this article: