A/V Room









Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith OST

Review: Jack Foley

ARGUE what you will about the merits of the Star Wars prequels, but one thing has remained consistently strong throughout - that is the music of John Williams.

So while it remains to be seen whether Episode III: Revenge of the Sith can live up the ridiculously high expectancy surrounding it, the good news is that score-wise, Williams has not let fans down.

Revenge of the Sith features a new score by the five-times Oscar winner, who has also served as composer and conductor for each of the previous chapters in the saga.

And it comes complete with an exclusive collector's DVD - Star Wars: A Musical Journey - that takes viewers on a musical and visual journey through all six films from the most popular movie saga of all-time.

Returning to Revenge of the Sith itself, however, Williams' score contains all of the essential ingredients you would expect from such a landmark film in the series, from the world-famous Star Wars fanfare which sets things in motion, to the darker elements, such as Anakin vs Obi-Wan and Enter Lord Vader.

The names of the tracks alone set the pulse racing, yet Williams' score certainly suggests that the film is going to deliver on its big moments (if nothing else).

Together with the London Symphony Orchestra (the same orchestra that recorded the original Star Wars score 28 years ago), Williams has created a soundtrack that is both rousing and emotional, and one which effectively conveys Anakin Skywalker's journey towards the dark side of The Force.

The impending sense of tragedy is effectively conveyed in Anakin's Dream, which builds slowly towards several high-tempo moments, while a haunting use of vocals serves to make Padme's Ruminations feel particularly foreboding.

The orchestra gets into full swing for some of the bigger moments, such as Battle of the Heroes early on, or Grievous And The Droids, but it is the final part of the CD which really comes into its own, as the conclusion everyone has been waiting to see finally manifests itself.

Throughout, however, Williams utilises the themes and musical motives that link Revenge of the Sith with his earlier scores, ensuring that a welcome sense of familiarity remains even during the darkest moments.

As such, it's refreshing to hear that Star Wars fanfare return for the 13-minute finale, A New Hope and End Credits (Medley), which brings things to a suitably rousing conclusion.

It is now up to George Lucas to ensure that his film can match the high standards set by Williams' fantastic score.


Track listing:
Disc: 1
1. Star Wars and the Revenge of the Sith - The London Symphony Orchestra
2. Anakin's Betrayal - The London Symphony Orchestra
3. Battle of the Heroes - The London Symphony Orchestra
4. Anakin's Dream - The London Symphony Orchestra
5. Reunion of Anakin and Padme - The London Symphony Orchestra
6. Welcome, Lord Vader - The London Symphony Orchestra
7. Padme's Ruminations - The London Symphony Orchestra
8. Grevious Travels to Palpatine - The London Symphony Orchestra
9. I Am the Senate - The London Symphony Orchestra
10. General Grevious - The London Symphony Orchestra
11. Palpatine's Dark Teachings - The London Symphony Orchestra
12. Anakin vs. Obi-Wan - The London Symphony Orchestra
13. Anakin's Dark Deeds - The London Symphony Orchestra
14. Immolation Scene - The London Symphony Orchestra
15. Birth of the Twins and Padme's Destiny - The London Symphony Orchestra
16. New Hope and End Credits - The London Symphony Orchestra

Disc: 2
1. Long Time Ago: Star Wars Main Title {from Star Wars} [DVD]
2. Dark Forces Conspire: Duel of the Fates {from Episode I: The Phantom Me
3. Hero Rises: Anakin's Theme {from Episode I: The Phantom Menace} [DVD]
4. Fateful Love: Across the Stars {from Episode II: Attack of the Clones}
5. Hero Falls {from Episode III: Revenge of the Sith} [DVD]
6. Empire Is Forged: The Imperial March {from Episode V: The Empire Strike
7. Planet That Is Farthest From: The Dune Sea of Tatooine/Jawa Sandcrawler
8. Unlikely Alliance: Binary Sunset/Cantina Band {from Episode IV: A New H
9. Defender Emerges: Princess Leia's Theme {from Episode IV: A New Hope} [
10. Daring Rescue: Ben's Death/Tie Fighter Attack {from Episode IV: A New H
11. Jedi Is Trained: Yoda's Theme {from Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back}
12. Narrow Escape: The Asteroid Field {from Episode V: The Empire Strikes B
13. Bond Unbroken: Luke and Leia {from Episode VI: Return of the Jedi} [DVD
14. Sanctuary Moon: The Forest Battle {from Episode VI: Return of the Jedi}
15. Life Redeemed: Light of the Force {from Episode VI: Return of the Jedi}
16. New Day Dawns: Throne Room/Finale {from Episode IV: A New Hope} [DVD]

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z