Follow Us on Twitter

Sebastian Darke: Prince of Fools - Philip Caveney (Preview)

Sebastian Darke: Prince of Fools

Preview by Jack Foley

TO CELEBRATE the release of Philip Caveney’s novel Sebastian Darke: Prince of Fools, IndieLondon is bringing you a special preview, as well as the chance to read an extract and some special vodcasts to whet your appetite still further.

Until a few years ago, Philip Caveney was writing horror/thriller novels for Headline books, and now Transworld have published his first book aimed at a younger audience.

Sebastian Darke is the 17-year-old son of a jester living in Middle Earth, trying to follow in his fathers footsteps, with one major flaw; he just isn’t funny! (the book is though!)

We’ve got some great Vodcasts of Philip talking about the book, why he decided to have a change from adult writing, and a talking Buffalope called Max…

Plus the chance to win a signed copy of the book and some special Sebastian Darke juggling balls. Two runners-up will also receive unsigned copies of the book for.

So keep reading…

About the book and from the publisher…

Sebastian Darke is the real hero of this story but typically he’s left it to me, his faithful companion Max, to tell you all about it.

Young Sebastian has the hopes and fortunes of his family resting on his shoulders so together with his trusted companion, the dashing and witty Buffalope Max (that’s me!), he must journey to the far-off city of Keladon to seek the patronage of King Septimus.

The trouble is, his father was the one with all the talent. Sebastian doesn’t really have what you’d call ‘the gift’. In fact, as far as jesters go, he’s pretty hopeless. So it’s probably just as well that his quest, if you can call it that, is interrupted by enough thrills and spills and mortal peril to keep anyone busy, with just a tiny dash of romance thrown in for good measure.

This fantastical fairy-tale yarn has all the hallmarks of a great buffalope adventure story; you will gasp in amazement at my audacious feats of derring-do and chuckle at my witty one-liners.

I’m also reliably informed that you will adore the beautiful, yet feisty Princess Kerin (she isn’t quite hairy enough for my tastes) and even I was impressed by Cornelius the pint-sized warrior and his famous Golmiran Death Leap. Sebastian, I suppose, manages to hold his own in a couple of fights and even tells a funny joke or two. I still think it should be my name on the cover of the book though.

Sebastian Darke: Prince of Fools cannot possibly fail to win over even the most serious of readers. Fans of Shrek and The Princess Bride will love it.

About the author

Philip Caveney is a copywriter from Manchester. He has had several adult thrillers published, but has now turned his hand successfully to children’s books. He lives with his wife and 13-year-old daughter.

Watch the vodcats

Watch Vodcast 1

Watch Vodcast 2

Watch Vodcast 3

Watch Vodcast 4

Win copies of the book

To celebrate the release of the book, IndieLondon is offering its readers the chance to win a signed copy of the book and some special Sebastian Darke juggling balls. Two runners-up will also receive unsigned copies of the book for.

All you have to do is answer the following question…

Q. What is the name of Sebastian Darke’s companion (clue, he has written the preview above on behalf of the publishers!)

Simply send the answer to Sebastian Darke competition and include your name, address and email.

Now read an extract