Follow Us on Twitter

Cass Fox - Come Here

Cass Fox, Come Here

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

CASS Fox is one of a rare number of artists who can say that their debut single, Touch Me hit the UK No.1 spot in the charts.

Produced by Rui Da Silva, the track provided a suitable platform for the singer’s distinct vocals and powerfully emotional style. Yet it also hinted at an artist that knew how to mix some mainstream melodies with a slightly grittier edge.

It was little wonder, therefore, that Fox’s voice drew immediate comparisons with the likes of Annie Lennox – such was the power that radiated from the track’s distinct chorus.

Her debut album, Come Here was subsequently scheduled for release last September (2005) but was forced to delay due to a last minute legal wrangle involving her name.

Although it failed to forward the momentum generated by her No.1 smash, Cass now refers to the delay as a minor blessing in disguise because, in the meantime, she took herself on tour with Faithless, who have subsequently asked her to guest on their next album.

Now that it’s here, Fox’s debut album is certainly worthy of attention for anyone who helped Touch Me to the top spot.

Buoyed by the recent single, Army Of One, Fox combines sassy, soulful, R’n’B tinged vocals with some canny beats that offer something a little bit harder than the usual mainstream pop-lite.

Army of One is another highlight to emerge from the long-player – a song about self-belief (“you gotta feel it, you gotta want it, you gotta own it) that drops some excellent, dance-friendly beats and melodies.

In single form, it was even remixed by the likes of Tim Bran, J-Walk Junkyard Fizzbomb and, most notably, Hardkandy.

The remainder of the album is similarly impressive. Further highlights include opening track Out Of My Reach, which features a well-judged sample of Come In Out Of The Rain to layer on the soul, as well as some truly sassy vocals.

And the funky shuffle of Million Dollars, which hints at a deliciously old-school Motown vibe. Fox’s vocals are a little lighter, flirty even – but they continue to impress.

Save Me contains an ambient-style beat and electronic flourishes that evoke memories of All Saints’ work with William Orbit – emerging as a light, radio-friendly listen that will probably do well as a single.

And Live A Little strips back the beats and drops in some nice backing vocals from Wayne Hernandez and Ronnie Wilson to add a different form of layering until the track really kicks in midway through.

Given the mainstream popularity that Fox has managed to attract off the back of her single releases so far, it’s pretty safe to say that Come Here will prove a massive hit for her – for once, it deserves to be.

Track listing:

  1. Out Of My Reach
  2. Million Dollars
  3. Save Me
  4. Daddy Dear
  5. Come Here
  6. Strangers
  7. Live A Little
  8. Army Of One
  9. God Likes Good Lovers
  10. Little Bird
  11. Into The Blue
  12. Touch Me