Follow Us on Twitter

Yourcodenameis:milo - They Came From The Sun

Yourcodenameis:milo, They Came From The Sun

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2.5 out of 5

THEY Came From The Sun is the second album from Newcastle’s post-hardcore outfit Yourcodenameis:milo. It’s a typically fiery record that pounds away without delivering too many great moments.

Expectations were raised ahead of its release following the appearance of Understand as a limited edition digital download. That track made effective use of some driving guitars and a vocal style that’s reminiscent to Kasabian at their swaggering best.

But too often the remainder of the album lacks much spark and is more about straightforward rock. Bass player Ross Harley says of the album: “Without doubt, They Came from The Sun represents a leap forward from the collision between over exuberance and experimentation that was Ignoto – a record we’re all really proud of.

“The new album is a more cohesive record and certainly leaner than its predecessor but at the same time we feel the vast enthusiasm we have for each other and our music is still evident on every track.”

With efforts such as I’m Impressed, Translate and Evening though, Yourcodenameis:milo slip into a formulaic rut that renders the album quite mundane. That is to say, crashing drums, screeching guitars, atmospheric vocals that combine to create quite a bland whole.

Occasionally, Paul Mullen’s vocals explode into life to up the tempo (especially on tracks like Evening) but unless you’re heading to festivals like Download this summer, there’s really not much of a widespread appeal about them.

They Came From The Sun does contain some good moments, though, especially when they augment the overall sound with some electronic flourishes (another Kasabian-style nod). Just as Understand exhilarates, so too does About Leaving, with its scuzzy undertones and lively chorus.

And SixFive finds the pace changed completely to almost pedestrian, as a stark piece of guitar work sets things rolling in suitably atmospheric fashion and Mullen’s vocals come over all haunting and aching. It’s a nice moment of pause from the heavier stuff that even has the audacity to drop some glockenspiel along the way.

To The Cars is an epic offering late on that builds from gentle simplicity to skyscraping wall of noise in suitably gutsy fashion.

But on the whole the album struggles to allow its better moments to stand out from the general wall of noise epitomised by pounding, crashing, screeching tracks such as Take To The Floor and Screaming Ground – two out of the three final tracks that bring things to a close and leave the most lasting impression.

Download picks: Understand, About Leaving, SixFive, To The Cars

Track listing:

  1. Pacific Theatre
  2. All That Was Missing
  3. Understand
  4. I’m Impressed
  5. About Leaving
  6. Sixfive
  7. Translate
  8. Evening
  9. Take To The Floor
  10. To The Cars
  11. Screaming Ground
  12. Dicta Boelcke

  1. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but judging by the sound of the review the problem is not with the band but more with the style of music. Which again, is fair enough, but a shame as this is a cracking album.

    Sam Atkinson    Apr 18    #